FHR Facebook Page


THOKO MPUMLWANA is the chairperson of the Foundation for Human Rights. Also the deputy chairperson of the Commission for Gender Equality, she holds education degrees from the University of South Africa, the University of Natal-Pietermaritzburg and Michigan State University. She currently chairs the Film and Publication Board.

LOUISE ASMAL has worked in human rights organisations all her life, from the National Council for Civil Liberties (now Liberty) in London, to the Irish Anti-Apartheid Movement, of which she was honorary secretary for 25 years, to the South African Legal Defence Fund and the Canon Collins Educational Trust. She served as chairperson of the board of the Foundation for Human Rights for over 10 years, until the end of 2014, and remains a board member.

SIRAJUDIEN DESAI has served as deputy chairperson of the FHR since 1996. He was appointed as a judge on the Cape Supreme Court bench in 1995; as an advocate, he had previously served as a prominent human rights lawyer. He is a founder member of the National Association of Democratic Lawyers (NADEL). In 1993 he appeared as legal counsel in the Motsuenyane Commission for uMkhonto weSizwe – then the military wing of the African National Congress (ANC).

He was appointed to the Hoexter Commission, which dealt with the restructuring of the courts in South Africa post-1994. In July 1995 he was elevated to the bench of the Western Cape High Court (then the Cape Supreme Court, later the Cape High Court). He has served as chairperson of the National Council for Correctional Services (NCCS) since 1998.

NARANDRAN JODY KOLLAPEN is a judge of the North Gauteng High Court, based in Pretoria. He served as chair of the South African Human Rights Commission from 2002 to 2009. In 2013 he was appointed as deputy chair of the South African Law Reform Commission. He has been awarded an honorary doctorate by the Durban University of Technology, as well as the Citizen’s Excellence Award by the Mayor of Tshwane for his contribution to human rights.

ERROL HOLLAND qualified as a doctor from the University of Cape Town in 1972, and then as a specialist in internal medicine. He earned a PhD and registration in the sub-specialty of clinical haematology. He currently serves as a consultant with the Foundation for Professional Development, an organisation that is involved in academic training in the private sector.

NTLUPHEKO JAMES YEKISO holds B.Proc and LLB degrees from the University of South Africa, and an LLM degree from the University of the Western Cape. He is the first black lawyer to have set up legal practice in Cape Town, and was later appointed a permanent Judge of the Cape High Court with effect from 26 July 2002. He practised law and was appointed Acting Inspecting Judge of Prisons for the period 30 June 2007-31 May 2009. 

SHIRLEY MABUSELA served as a social worker for child welfare for 18 years. She also served as national director of the National Children’s Rights Committee, leading the process of inclusion of children’s rights into the Constitution. She served first as deputy chairperson and later as chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission. She is a member of the Human Sciences Research Council’s Research Ethics Committee and is a member of the University of Venda council, as well as chairperson of the Education, Training and Development Sector Practices SETA.

DUMISA BUHLE NTSEBEZA SC took silk in 2005, becoming the first African to be conferred silk status in the history of the Cape Bar. He currently practises in the Johannesburg Bar, having done so since 2008. He has served as a judge in various divisions of the High Court of South Africa, and in all the Labour Courts. He is national chairman of the Council of Advocates for Transformation, and spokesperson for the Judicial Service Commission. 

ZIBUSISO KGANYAGO’s career spans 20 years in property planning and development. She currently serves as director of developments at Tsogo Sun. She holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Natal. She has also attended the Business Development Programme at the Wharton School of Business in Pennsylvania, as well as the Executive Development Program at the University of Nevada in Reno.  

ZUKILE NOMVETE is chairperson of the board of World Expo 2025 South Africa. He has served as chairman and non-executive director in various sectors, including road, rail, aviation, tourism, ICT and property. Among his achievements are as project management and co-ordinator of the successful delivery of the 17 government guarantees for the successful hosting of the FIFA 2010 World Cup South Africa™. He was also a co-ordinator for COP17 2011 (UNFCCC). He is a former member of the Irish Anti-Apartheid Movement.

ALLAN TAYLOR has 30 years of experience in the fields of human resources, organisational design, education and non-profit funding. Previous appointments include that of senior special adviser to the former Minister of Education, Professor Kader Asmal. He was also CEO of a large South African trust that funded in the education, environment and social development sectors. He serves on a number of boards in the NGO, PBO and public sectors.